Windows 7 Media Center and .mkv files

Home Forums Home Theater Computers Windows 7 Media Center and .mkv files

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

I’ve got built a mini pc to play Hulu, Netflix, music, etc.  It’s still pretty bare bones in the software world – just have huludesktop, flash, itunes, and VLC.  I can get mkv’s to play under VLC but not in media center – they don’t even show up!

Is there something I need to turn on?  I’m new at media center after having used SageTV for years.

Thanks,
    Mike

Oh – its Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

You will have to install Haali Media Splitter or DivX.  In my past builds with XP and Vista I used Haali Media Splitter, but since DivX has a solution now I used it since I figured it might be a little “simpler”.  Also, at the time I was having trouble when playing divx/xvid files where the audio was out of sync using Media Center’s native divx playback.  I figured installing DivX might solve that.  It didn’t.  But be forewarned, I can play mkv’s in Media Center now, but I have an audio sync issue with it as well sometimes.  It’s just sometimes though.  We watch True Blood episodes in mkv and they can be done by the same person and one time it will work OK, and the next week it doesn’t.  Lately, I usually just open TMT 3 and play it with that.  Since it’s just a one time thing, I don’t mind pulling the mouse out to get it started.

mikinho
    Participant

My experience with DivX has been pretty poor.  I try it out at each new release and I really want to use it as I want Media Foundation to do well but I always go back to Haali Media Splitter.  It has its own share of bugs but for the most part it is stable.  Another option is using the MPC-HC standalone MKV Splitter.