What video card for HDMI video and sound

Home Forums Beginner General Questions What video card for HDMI video and sound

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Hello, I have set up a computer for a friend of mine to use with his HDTV (wireless keyboard and mouse). I let him use my backup PCI express graphics card for now and need to find a card that will work for his application. I have experience with graphics cards and upgrade a lot for gaming but never attached one to a TV. So I have no experience whatsoever with graphics cards and regular TV’s. I used my GeForce 9600 GT (temporarily) so that he would have something to get him by. Here’s the issues I had and the questions I need help with before I order him his own card;

Issue #1 Used adapter to get component out to the TV and the resolution was stretched larger than the screen (tried adjusting TV and everything, tried Nvidia settings, nothing worked)

Issue #2 Used HDMI and didn’t have sound and there was not an input for a 3.5 mm plug on the TV for that specific input. I know there is a way to set up sound through HDMI but how?!? I would rather built in sound on the graphics card if that exists to make set up easy (I want to install drivers and plug in HDMI cable to TV and be done). 

Issue #3/temporary fix, I attached the TV to the graphics card using the component/s-video adapter and an S-Video cable for video and a 3.5 mm to 3.5 mm cord for stereo sound. The result; The video screen is smaller than the TV and looks horrible! It is working for now though.