Media Center Movie Managers

Home Forums Beginner General Questions Media Center Movie Managers

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Zak

Media Center Movie Managers

11-27-11

Help Please!

I am just beginning to collect movies. I have 3 Blue-ray and 2 DVD movies, see what I mean by “just beginning”? I have a PC with plenty of performance capability and am using DVDFab to copy them to my hard drive, DVDFab seems to work well.

At this point I am not interested in recording TV programs, just copying from DVD or Blue-ray disk to hard drive.

I like the look and feel of Windows Media Center and want to use that for managing and playing my movies. (Unless recommended otherwise)

I read the review of:

•MyMovies
      •Media Browser
      •Collectorz.com Movie Collector
      •Salami Movie Organizer
      •YAMMM
      •MetaBrowser

http://www.missingremote.com/review/battle-media-center-movie-managers

That review was in 2009, 2 years ago. Has anything changed worth mentioning?

Do any of these programs allow for setting a movie to repeat over and over until I click a stop button, or allow for setting a few movies to play in a row one after another without any operator interaction?

My Movies seems like a good choice, I do like the look, layout and simplicity although I don’t understand the points system. What is it used for? Do I need it for My Movies to work properly? Do I have to contribute something in order to accumulate points? What do I have to contribute? I would rather pay a dollar amount than have the hassle of a points system.

I’m new to this and looking for some help.

Thanks,
      Zak

Mike Garcen

there’s no app i know of that will just play a movie over and over again, your best bet here is just to use window media player and create a playlist with the same movie several times.