Celeron 430 in an HTPC

Home Forums Home Theater Construction Help Celeron 430 in an HTPC

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

I want to build my first computer from scratch, and I want it to be able to handle basic HTPC duties.  Your thoughts please, specifically on the integrated video ability to handle HTPC duties.  Is there anything the below setup would NOT be able to do?  The basics are listed below:

Intel Celeron 430 Conroe 1.8 Ghz
    MB-Zotac GF9300-A-E LGA 775 with NVIDIA GEFORCE 9300
    Case: Rosewill R379-M Slim Case – 300W
    4 1 gig ram sticks
    CD ROM (not going to go high end for my first build)

OR….am I better off going inexpensive MB and getting a low power video card, like a Radeon 5 series, which should work with a 300Watt power supply.

Remember it is my first build and money is an object for me.

Thanks,

John

—————-UPDATE 7/19/2011———————-

Budget is under $300.  I want a low power, efficient system.  I can handle not playing BR discs.  All I wish to know is can the 430 with the NVIDIA GEFORCE 9300 handle 1080 streaming, maybe a Hauppuage TV tuner down the road.  I know the requirements for the tuner card are P4 or better, but my experience from the tech field is that companies like Happuauge are slow to update their requirements, not because they are bad people, but because testing with new products takes time when dealing with corporate.

Thanks.

swoon

Let’s start with your budget (hard number you can’t exceed) and what sorts of tasks you want your HTPC to perform and then we can go from there.

Mike Garcen

go with 2 x 2gb of RAM if you can, make use of dual channel.

Also, there’s absolutely no reason to not at least get a DVD-Rom, considering one can be had for $20-30. If you might possibly watch blu-rays, you can get one for a modest $60-80