MCML Layout

Home Forums HTPC Software Developers Corner MCML Layout

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Hi, my name is Nate – I am a .Net programmer by trade and a HTPC Enthusiest (medio -> popcorn hour -> xbmc -> WMC 7).  I recently added a ceton card and am loving it.  I am not a fan of the Recorded TV section and am writing an add-in to replace it (Mostly i want an “New” flag and a Plex-style On Deck).  I know about Recorded TV HD – but i want something a bit different and figured it would be a good learning experience anyway.  The back-end libraries/DB are all set.  Working on the MCML now, and wow it is maddening.  The layout options just do not make sense to me.  I hate that everything seems to size to children.  Does anyone out there have a solid grasp on MCML layouts that can offer some help?  Here is an example of a problem i am having.  The UI is a Metro style UI.  I wrote a list UI control.  It works great.  However, i want the selected item to have a colorfill background.  No problem.  But i want the selection bar to fill the entirety of the horizontal space given to it from the parent (Form Layout).  Is this possible?  It doesnt seem to be – i cant get it to work.  The color fill will only ever extend as far as the text.  I am tempted to just go XBMC skin style and code everything to a 1080p resolution rather than using percentages.

Nmarconi

Here’s a screenshot of the idea …

Kirby

Cant really answer your questions as I have not ever tried to program in MCML, but this looks very nice and if you need someone to help test for bugs, let me know.  Is that a scaled down fanart (1920×1080) image?  

Nmarconi

Yup, that’s a scaled down fanart.  That layout is correct (but the details under will be the episode details – not show details – thats just a mockup – but i acutally have the MCML working other than the silly selection bar)  But it is very close to how i want it to look.