Long time WMC user seeks your input

Home Forums Home Theater Computers Long time WMC user seeks your input

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

I have been using Windows Media Center as my HTPC since 2007.   It has been great, but with the lack of development it has not kept up with the times.  The main reason I love and have loved WMC is the single environment no matter what you want to watch or listen to.  One environment, one remote.  Even when using extenders.  Actually I am still happy with WMC with the exception of lack of streaming services within.  The Netflix app is good.  But slick, full featured apps for other streaming services are missing and MS appears to lack interest.

So, in short what is important to me is OTA TV, streaming services, whole house solution within a single environment (no input switching for the wife) and a single remote.  Right now the only off the shelf solution seems to be the Tivo Roamio, but I am not excited about the monthly fees.  

I have not looked for a new solution for a while and would appreciate your feedback on what really fits that bill.  

Techbutton